Anxiety · Stress

Battles with the Poison Parrot – by Lewis Bull

photo-1455915714862-91031511ccfdSo here’s a new character to my blogs, first the goblin now the poison parrot, and together they make a pretty lethal combination.

For those who haven’t heard of this concept the parrot feeds the bad thoughts we have about ourselves, for me it’s been a long old battle and it’s only now that I’ve realized the effect its had on me and it’s only recently that I’ve tried to stop this pretty relentless abuse.

This poison the parrot speaks can range from self-doubt to self-loathing or sometimes a warped sense of how you see yourself, you’ll think one thing and then when you meet someone new who sees something else, all you’ll hear is the parrot telling you you’re no good.

When I first heard this concept it was put to me that to silence the thoughts, I should use a visual of myself silencing the parrot, this I admit has been tough to do.

Sometimes it seems an unbeatable feat to accomplish to silence these thoughts that have plagued me for so long.

But this me saying I won’t be defeated by the poison parrot and let the battle continue on!

© Lewis Bull 2016


Read Lewis’ previous contributions:

“The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things. The good things don’t always soften the bad things, but vice versa the bad things don’t always spoil the good things and make them unimportant.” The Eleventh Doctor

5 thoughts on “Battles with the Poison Parrot – by Lewis Bull

Leave a Reply

