Anxiety

Anxiety and Openly Showing Emotions – by Lewis Bull

Anxiety and Openly Showing Emotions | Letters to the Mind
In this post I thought I’d write about how anxiety and mental health in general can affect other emotions, from feeling emotions more intensely to not feeling them at all or simply hiding them from those around you.

I think for me It’s a mixture of it would seem feeling emotions more intensely e.g. sadness, low mood, anger that’s just naming a few, but on the other hand suppressing emotion for a long time I wouldn’t let my emotions show instead would just retreat to a place where I wouldn’t be bothered, in doing this making me somewhat less susceptible to not just my own but the emotions others around me were feeling.

Yet since starting to come to terms with the fact that my anxiety has had a bigger impact on me than I realized and trying to get a better understanding why through CBT it’s shed light on the way I’ve lived life these past few years.

Now in dealing with this and quite unexpectedly I show anxiety/emotion more openly than I ever have before, yet I hope while still able to keep them in check and not let emotion completely overrun me.

I say this it’s time to change what it means to be macho and tell males it’s ok to show emotion/vulnerability.

I think I’ll end this by saying, I used to think I don’t mind being on my own, that’s true to some extent but at the same time it’s better to have people around who actually give damn that you’re here!

© Lewis Bull 2016


Read Lewis’ previous contributions:

“I’ll make it through it if I ask for help is the reality of it.” – Stevie Ray Vaughan

17 thoughts on “Anxiety and Openly Showing Emotions – by Lewis Bull

    1. Lucy, thank you for coming by and taking the time to read Lewis Bull’s post. We would love to have you join us here. Please consider writing a letter to your illness as an initial contribution. It is extremely empowering.

      Sincerely,

      Memee

      Like

Leave a Reply

