Depression · Poetry

Dear Depression – by Matt

Dear Depression | Letters to the Mind

Wherever I go, you’re not far behind
You are the shadow cast over my mind
My face is fixed, no twitch no blink
I show no emotion, as I come back from the brink
It took me time to see through your lies
To see the truth hidden in your eyes.

I’ve made some mistakes, there’s no denying
If I claimed anything else, I’d only be lying
I’ve lived my life in black and white
There was no colour, there was no light
I can’t see where I’m going, but I know where I’ve been
I don’t want to return there and see what I’ve once seen.

© Matt McKeen 2015


About the author:

My name is Matt, and I started this blog nearly two years ago now. It’s been a release from the stresses of everyday life ever since (though I’ve not always written as often as I’d like!) I suffer from both anxiety and depression, but through writing I have found comfort and friends, many of whom have their own struggles with the same illnesses. It’s a constant reminder that we are not alone and to speak out. In silence we suffer.

Blog: The Pebble in my Shoe

“A man who views the world the same at fifty as he did at twenty has wasted thirty years of his life.” – Muhammad Ali

The wonderful photograph was taken by Rene Asmussen and acquired through Pexels. It’s a great source for free photos under the Creative Commons Zero license, so check it out!

4 thoughts on “Dear Depression – by Matt

  1. Oh man, Matt, there is so much truth in that poem!

    I am helping Jade to get this blog going and will be reblogging your poem on my website (and other media platforms) to help garner attention to what were trying to make happen here. Thank you for being among the first to jump in and share your story here at the Letters to the Mind Project!

    And I LOVE your quote.

    #&9728; Memee

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha thanks, it’s the first one I’ve written in a long while. Sure thing, that’s fine with me. If I can help just one person I am more than happy! As I was saying to Jade, there’s so many great quotes out there, it was tough just to pick one!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on The pebble in my shoe and commented:
    Thanks to Jade for posting this on her blog. Letters to the Mind is a great idea, I’m so pleased that I decided to write this. Jade asked what I would write in a letter/poem to my illness. This is what I came up with. Thank you for reading, please check out her blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

